Is your nonprofit innovative? Apply for $5,000 award

Nonprofit leaders who demonstrate innovation and passion for their organization and community could earn $5,000 for their agency. Nominations are now being accepted for the Evelyn Wright Moore Award for Innovation Excellence, which is awarded each year at Wipfli’s Stronger to Serve National Training Conference. 

The annual award is named after Evelyn Wright Moore, who attended every Wipfli National Training Conference over 17 years until her passing in 2017. Moore was president and CEO of Brazoria County Head Start Early Learning School in Angleton, Texas, and a lifelong champion of innovation, learning and community service.

Through this award, she continues to inspire nonprofit leaders to serve and lead creatively.

“Wipfli created the award to continue Evelyn’s legacy and carry on her spirit of innovation by recognizing other impactful nonprofit leaders,” said Kathleen DuBois, Wipfli’s Nonprofit & Government Industry Leader. “It inspires us all to see all the amazing ways nonprofits are using technology and forward thinking to make a difference in their organization and their communities.”

Last year’s winner was Eileen Sperl, director of Child & Family Services at Meta House in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Sperl piloted Meta House’s Filial Therapy Program, an innovative mode of play therapy focused on the developmental needs of children and the parent‐child relationship. The family‐centered, evidence‐based curriculum is now used widely and considered a best practice.

Previous recipients include:

  • Claire Rice (2020), executive director of the Arts Alliance Illinois, who helped unite the city of Chicago, the state of Illinois and private philanthropists to provide immediate financial relief to individual artists and arts organizations at the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic.
  • Belva Dorsey (2019), CEO of Enrichment Services Program, who broke down silos at the Columbus, Georgia community action agency to create operational efficiencies that greatly enhanced their anti-poverty programs.
  • Michael Patterson (2018), chief information officer and co-founder of Arkansas Early Learning, who installed Google Minis in classrooms and used voice-assisted technology to reduce the paperwork burden on caregivers with the Head Start grantee.

The application for the 2022 award includes five brief questions and can be submitted online.

The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2022. Learn more or submit your nomination on our conference website.

Share This Post